Dance Exam Updates

We have requested the following dates for Exams to take place at the Studios, and will also be arranging additional coaching sessions beforehand. You should have already received a letter and reply slip if your child is ready to be entered for exams, but we need to know availability ASAP.

Exam Dates

Modern & Tap: Sunday 4th & 18th November (Alternative dates 11th & 25th November),
Ballet: Sunday 2nd December (alternative date 9th December)

The Sunday before the confirmed date will be Mock examinations.

Summer Holiday Coaching

These sessions will take place every Tuesday and Thursday from Tuesday 24th July until Thursday 30th August except Carnival week (13-18 August).  £6 per hour payable on attendance please

Tuesdays 3-4pm Grade 5 Ballet Grade 3 Tap
4-5pm Grade 4 Modern Grade 5 Modern
5-6pm Grade 3 Ballet Grade 4 Ballet
Wednesdays 3-4pm Primary Ballet
4-5pm Primary Modern Primary Tap
Thursdays 3-4pm Grade 1 Modern Grade 2 Modern
4-5pm Grade 1 Tap Grade 6 Modern
5-6pm Grade 1 Ballet

 

Extra Coaching from September

From week commencing 3rd September till exams taken (excluding half term) we will be holding additional exam coaching at the following times. £6 per hour

Tuesdays 6.15-7.00pm Grade 1 Ballet
Fridays 4.30-5.30pm Primary Ballet
5.30-6.30pm Primary Tap

 

Summer Holiday Workshops

Summer Holiday Workshops

Although normal classes stop during the school holidays, PALS will continue as usual and we have Workshop running throughout… and there’s Carnival Week too of course!

Short-Break Workshops for children with additional needs are on Tuesdays and Thursdays (9.30am-2.30pm); and our regular Workshops on Mondays and Wednesdays (10am-3pm). See the images below for more details.

Carnival Week is 13-18 August, and we won’t be running the workshops days this week.

workshops shortbreaks

Louisa, our Senior Singing Teacher is also holding an Open Day at the Studios with Essex Vocal Coaching on Friday 3 August:

Sound of Silence

An exploration of what it means to suffer from mental turmoil.

With each dancer representing the different emotions of the central character, the ‘black dog’ always overshadows the rest…

We have this available in other formats if required.

Please contact us if you would like to use this in any way so that we can make sure you have it in the best format for your needs.

TERM DATES 2018-9

AUTUMN TERM

Tuesday 4th September – Saturday 20th October (7 weeks)

half term: Monday 22nd October – Saturday 27th October 

Monday 29th October – Saturday 22nd December (8 weeks)

SPRING TERM

Monday 7th January – Saturday 16th February (6 weeks)

half-term: Monday 18th February – Saturday 23rd February

Monday 25th February – Saturday 6th April (6 weeks)

SUMMER TERM

Tuesday 23rd April – Saturday 25th May (5 weeks)

half-term: Monday 27th May – Saturday 1st June

Monday 3rd June – Saturday 20th July (7 weeks)

Note – all dates are inclusive

Roadworks and Class Changes – May 2018

Roadworks and Class Changes – May 2018

As you may have already seen, Essex County Council has decided to undertake roadworks along Brook Road. What they forgot to tell anyone though, is that they will actually be closing the road completely overnight (from 7pm) for two weeks, starting Monday 30th April.

Obviously this will have significant impact on many of the businesses in the road, including us, and means Penni is having to re-jig classes a bit!

Tuesday nights it only affects Grade 5 Ballet pick up. We suggest you park in one of the side roads (Wyburns Ave or Woodlands Close) and walk through the alley to us. These two roads are just off Daws Heath Road.

Wednesday and Thursday classes will finish by 6.30pm to allow everyone time to get out before they shut the road.

Classes that would usually take place after 6.30pm on Wednesday and Thursday will be moved to Saturday afternoon,
so Wednesday 2nd and Thursday 3rd moves to Saturday 5th; Wednesday 9th and Thursday 10th  to Saturday 12th, as below:

  • 3.15-4.15pm – Senior Dance (Call 1 & 2)
  • 4.15-5.15pm – Senior Street and Junior Drama
  • 5.15-6.15pm – Senior Drama

We realise this is as frustrating for you as it is for us, but this is the best way we can find to ensure everyone gets their classes.

As far as we know, this will only be for two weeks, but if we hear otherwise we will, of course, keep you informed.

Thank you for your understanding!